Maurice Brantley, Division President |  Division Officers | Youth Works Committee | ACT-SO | Y & C Units






Ebonique McClinnihan

State ACT-SO Chair

Augusta-Richmond County


Toni Holmes


Henry County










The NAACP’s Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO) is a yearlong achievement program designed to recruit, stimulate, and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African-American high school students.

ACT-SO includes 32 competitions in STEM, humanities, business, and performing, visual and culinary arts. Almost 300,000 young people have participated from the program since its inception.

For over thirty years the mission of ACT-SO has been to prepare, recognize and reward youth of African descent who exemplify scholastic and artistic excellence.

ACT-SO Mission

The goals of ACT-SO are:

  • To mobilize the adult community for the promotion of academic and artistic excellence.

  • To recognize creative talent and academic achievement.

  • To provide and assist students with the necessary skills to establish goals and acquire the confidence and training to make a successful contribution to society.

The Georgia NAACP coordinates the work of the various Units and stimulates the participates ambitions throught joint workshops, cultural enrichment activities, and fundraising endeavors.  


For more information on Georgia ACTSO contact Ebonique or Toni, State ACT-SO Chairs.  Read a message from Larry Brown Jr, NAACP ACT-SO National Director.





Atlanta Branch

Dr. Martha Plowden

Augusta-Richmond County Branch

Ebonique McClinnahan

Brooks County Branch

Dr. Patricia DeShazior-Hill

Carroll County Branch

Candice Babbs

Clayton County Branch

Ashaki Underwood

Cobb County Branch

Deane Bonner

DeKalb County Branch

Henry County Branch

Toni Holmes

West Metro Branch

Beverly White


Barry Duperon, Atlanta Branch

Silver Medalist, Visual Arts (2011)

Silver Medalist, Visual Arts (2012)

Triple Medalist, Visual Arst (2013)


Lawrence Simon, Atlanta Branch

Bronze Medalist, Culinary Arts (2011)


Jay Newsome, II, Fayette County YC

Silver Medalist, Music (2012)


Michael Adeyosose, Gwinnett County YC

Bronze Medalist, Science (2012)


Kelli McKinney, Fayette County YC

Silver Medalist, Photography (2013)


Anescia Loi, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Business (2013)


Victoria Martinez, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Culinary Arts (2013)


Melvin Byrd, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Music (2014)


Rianni Tyes, Gwinnett County YC

Gold Medalist, Culinary Arts (2015)


Brandon Hines, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Poetry-Written (2015)


Tejah Coffee, Gwinnett County YC

Bronze Medalist, Business (2015)

George Olverson, IV  DeKalb County Branch

Silver Medalist, Medicine & Health (2016)

Rashaud Clark, Clayton County Branch

Bronze Medalist, Culinary (2016)


Derrik Reid,  DeKalb County Branch

Bronze Medalist, Music (2016)

2001 Martin Luther King Jr Drive, Suite 307, Atlanta, Georgia 30310

E: | T: 404.577.8977 | F: 404.577.4593

Visit us Online at

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2020 Georgia NAACP