Dr. Patricia DeShazior-Hill

State ACT-SO Chair

Brooks County Branch


Cyreeta Thomas

State ACT-SO Co-Chair

Augusta-Richmond County Branch

The NAACP’s Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO) is a yearlong achievement program designed to recruit, stimulate, and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African-American high school students.

ACT-SO includes 32 competitions in STEM, humanities, business, and performing, visual and culinary arts. Almost 300,000 young people have participated from the program since its inception.

For over thirty years the mission of ACT-SO has been to prepare, recognize and reward youth of African descent who exemplify scholastic and artistic excellence.

ACT-SO Mission

The goals of ACT-SO are:

  • To mobilize the adult community for the promotion of academic and      artistic excellence

  • To recognize creative talent and academic achievement

  • To provide and assist students with the necessary skills to establish      goals and acquire the confidence and training to make a                      successful contribution to society.

The Georgia NAACP coordinates the work of the various Units and stimulates the participates ambitions throught joint workshops, cultural enrichment activities, and fundraising endeavors.  


For more information on Georgia ACT-SO contact

Dr. Deshazior-Hill or Cyreeta Thomas, State ACT-SO Chairs

Read a message from Larry Brown Jr, NAACP ACT-SO National Director.

"This is the place where professionals, mentors and your peers desire to see you succeed."

- Larry Brown, Jr.

Congratulations To Our 2020 Georgia ACT-SO 

Gold Medalists!


Atlanta Branch

Dr. Martha Plowden

Augusta-Richmond County Branch

Cyreeta Thomas

State ACT-SO Co-Chair

Brooks County Branch

Dr. Patricia DeShazior-Hill

State ACT-SO Chair

Carroll County Branch

Candice Babbs

DeKalb County Branch

Freda Hamond 

Henry County Branch

Esmond Pickett


Barry Duperon, Atlanta Branch

Silver Medalist, Visual Arts (2011)

Silver Medalist, Visual Arts (2012)

Triple Medalist, Visual Arst (2013)


Lawrence Simon, Atlanta Branch

Bronze Medalist, Culinary Arts (2011)


Jay Newsome, II, Fayette County YC

Silver Medalist, Music (2012)


Michael Adeyosose, Gwinnett County YC

Bronze Medalist, Science (2012)


Kelli McKinney, Fayette County YC

Silver Medalist, Photography (2013)


Anescia Loi, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Business (2013)


Victoria Martinez, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Culinary Arts (2013)


Melvin Byrd, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Music (2014)


Rianni Tyes, Gwinnett County YC

Gold Medalist, Culinary Arts (2015)


Brandon Hines, Gwinnett County YC

Silver Medalist, Poetry-Written (2015)


Tejah Coffee, Gwinnett County YC

Bronze Medalist, Business (2015)

George Olverson, IV  DeKalb County Branch

Silver Medalist, Medicine & Health (2016)

Rashaud Clark, Clayton County Branch

Bronze Medalist, Culinary (2016)


Derrik Reid, DeKalb County Branch

Bronze Medalist, Music (2016)


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • YouTube

© 2020 Georgia NAACP. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy.

2001 Martin Luther King Jr Drive, Ste 675

Atlanta, Georgia 30310

Office Hours:

Mon-Thur: 9:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Fri: 9:00 A.M. - 2:00 P.M.


Phone: 404.577.8977